Brahms And The Clarinet


The Omega Ensemble’s Artistic Director, clarinettist David Rowden performing with cellist Paul Stender and pianist Maria Raspopova present Brahms and the Clarinet, a concert which features the music of Bach, Beethoven and Brahms as well as a world premiere by Ben Hoadley.

Bach, Beethoven and Brahms are regarded by many as the three pillars of musical composition over the centuries. Few would know however, that Berlioz was the original third B, only to be substituted later by Brahms. There never seems to have been any doubt about the first two.

Brahms was so taken by the sensitive artistry of clarinetist Richard Mühlfeld that he came out of retirement to pen a number of works featuring the instrument. His exquisite Clarinet Trio draws out the instrument’s expressive qualities in a beautiful and touching exchange of ideas. Beethoven’s Clarinet Trio in Bb Major was similarly inspired by a well-known performer, who put in a request for a work based on a popular tune of the day. This concert also includes Bach’s immensely popular Cello Suite in G major together with a new work by Ben Hoadley.

Bach Cello Suite No. 1 in G major, BWV 1007
Beethoven Trio in B flat major, Op. 11
Ben Hoadley New commission (World Premiere)
Brahms Clarinet Trio in A minor, Op. 114


Tickets: Adult $74 Conc. $59 Under 30 $29

Bookings: (02) 9250 7777 or

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *