Loading Events

« All Events

Art Music Awards To Take Place in August

August 14 @ 5:30 pm

Image: William Barton, 2023 recipient of the Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services  to Australian Music.

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced that the 2024 Art Music Awards will take place on Wednesday 14 August, 2024 at the Malthouse Theatre in Melbourne | Naarm.

The Art Music Awards gathers Australia’s creators, performers, and leaders in art music to celebrate outstanding achievements in contemporary classical music, jazz and improvised music, experimental music, and sound art from the past year.

Finalists for the 2024 Art Music Awards will be announced on Thursday 11 July. The Awards span 13 national categories, recognising excellence in works and performance, as well as in music education, experimental practice, and activity in a regional area. The Luminary Awards will be presented to individuals and organisations from each state and territory to acknowledge sustained contributions within their local music communities.

The APRA and AMC Boards of Directors will jointly award the annual Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music. In the spirit of its namesake, this award recognises an individual or group considered to have made a sustained and impactful contribution to the art music sector. Recipients from recent years include William Barton, the late Nigel Butterley AM, Penny Lomax and Maureen Cooney.

The Art Music Awards will be hosted by composer, multi-disciplinary storyteller and ABC Classic broadcaster Stéphanie Kabanyana Kanyandekwe. She will be joined by guest presenters contemporary double bassist, improviser, and past Luminary Award recipient Miranda Hill and conductor Benjamin Northey.

Awards ceremony will showcase live performances curated by 2022 Art Music Award winner Sia Ahmad. A Canberra-based songwriter, artist, improviser and facilitator, Sia brings an outsider’s eye and “DIY punk aesthetic” to creative collaboration and programming. This will be the first Art Music Awards under her musical direction.

• Work of the Year: Choral
• Work of the Year: Chamber Music
• Work of the Year: Large Ensemble
• Work of the Year: Dramatic
• Work of the Year: Electroacoustic/Sound Art
• Work of the Year: Jazz
• Performance of the Year: Notated Composition
• Performance of the Year: Jazz/Improvised Music
• Excellence in Music Education
• Excellence in a Regional Area
• Excellence in Experimental Practice
• Luminary Award – Individual
• Luminary Award – Organisation
• Luminary Awards – State/Territory Awards
• Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music*
*As determined by the APRA and AMC Boards of Directors