Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

« All Events

Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra Celebrates Mozart In Tempestuous Skies

August 24, 2022 @ 7:00 pm

The Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra will present an all-Mozart program, Tempestuous Skies which includes the Overture to Don Giovanni, the Piano Concerto No.23, Serenata Notturna and the Jupiter Symphony, directed by Rachael Beesley with Neal Peres Da Costa as fortepiano soloist.

Mozart’s Jupiter Symphony is one of the greatest pieces ever written. His final symphony, it is a grand statement from a visionary composer, and even if the nickname wasn’t Mozart’s own, the wonder, awe and complexity of the work perfectly bears the name of the king of the Roman gods. Completed in 1788, this, his 41st symphony followed hard on the heels of his greatest operas, The Marriage of Figaro, Don Giovanni and Così fan tutte. The Overture to Don Giovanni bristles with passion and intrigue, foreshadowing the dramatic tale to come – extraordinary, considering Mozart wrote it the night before its premiere! Around the same time, Mozart wrote his Piano Concerto No.23. Internationally renowned fortepiano soloist Neal Peres Da Costa performs this staple of the piano repertoire.

The third piece in this program dates from a decade before the others, giving a glimpse of a very different Mozart. Barely 20 and the musical star of the Salzburg court, he wrote the Serenata Notturna as a piece for evenings, possibly to be performed outside, among all the other stars.

This program will feature selected emerging performers from the Young Mannheim Symphonists youth orchestra who will perform alongside the professional musicians of the Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra. Young Mannheim Symphonists is designed to provide opportunities for young musicians to experience the magic of historically informed performance, inspiring the next generation of research and performance-based inquiry.

The artists: Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra/Rachael Beesley Director/ Neal Peres Da Costa Fortepiano/ Emerging musicians from ,
The program: Wolfgang Amadeus MOZART: Serenade No.6 in D major, K.239 Serenata Notturna/ Piano Concerto No.23 in A Major, K.488/ Overture to Don Giovanni, K.527/ Symphony No.41 in C major, K.551 Jupiter



Australian Romantic & Classical Orchestra


City Recital Hall
2 Angel Place
Sydney, NSW 2000 Australia
+ Google Map