Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

« All Events

Ensemble Offspring: The Surge

June 5, 2021 @ 7:30 pm

Ensemble Offspring presents The Surge, three world premieres included in a multi-layered feast of music, ideas, lessons from the past and – with a little luck – hope for the decade ahead!

The 1990s were years of transformation that redefined both Australia and the world. ‘Creative Nation’ announced the crucial role of art in life and society, while the Mabo decision set off a chain reaction culminating in Paul Keating’s historic Redfern Address and the Australian parliament’s landmark Native Title Act in 1993. The internet began to insinuate itself into every corner of contemporary experience, reshaping everything it touched. The scientific community, meanwhile, spoke with increasing urgency of the mounting evidence of anthropogenic climate change, while politicians turned a deaf ear.

What are the sounds of this crucial decade?

Joined by Queensland band Topology In Brisbane and guitarists Andrew Blanch and Vladimir Gorbach and original live video by Peachey and Mosig, Ensemble Offspring reignites two classics from the ’90s by iconic Australian composers Sculthorpe and Westlake alongside five new commissions from Wells, Wilcox and Davidson reflecting on the cultural, climate and political situations Australia finds itself in today.

Other concerts: Friday 21 May 2021 – 6pm National Film & Sound Archive Canberra Tickets $25/$20/ Sunday 23 May 2021 – 5pm Deniliquin Baptist Church Tickets $35/ Saturday 29 May 2021 – 3pm The Corridor Project, Cowra Tickets $35/ Sunday 30 May 2021 – 3pm Orange Regional Conservatorium Tickets $30/$25/ Friday 20 August 2021 – 7:30pm (doors 7pm) SLQ The Edge, Dots+Loops Brisbane Tickets from $10

The performers: Claire Edwardes (percussion), Jason Noble (clarinet), Sonya Lifschitz (piano), Andrew Blanch (guitar), Vladimir Gorbach (guitar) + Veronique Serret (violin), Ben Ward (double bass), Paul Mosig & Rachel Peachey.

The program: Paul Mac – Redfern Address/ Peter Sculthorpe – Tropica/ Jessica Wells – 3 Interludes (world premiere)/ Robert Davidson – Net Surfing (world premiere)/ Felicity Wilcox – Tipping Point (world premiere)/ Nigel Westlake – Tall Tales but True