Musica Viva Announces Strike A Chord Finalists

Musica Viva has announced the performers in the grand finals of Strike A Chord, the very first National Chamber Music Championship for secondary school ensembles.  The 12 finalist ensembles will compete  streamed across Australia at 2pm AEST on Saturday 12 September, 2020.

After an intense period of listening and deliberation, the jury selected the twelve groups, representing six different states and territories.
Wilma Smith, Artistic Director of the Competition, was joined on the panel by first round jurors Elizabeth Sellars and Stefan Cassomenos.
The Grand Finalists are:
Cellolujah (Cello Quartet, Melbourne, VIC)/ Cousin Quartet (String Quartet, Sydney, NSW)/Esperanza (Chamber Choir, Adelaide, SA)/
JPMS Ensemble Animato (Percussion Ensemble, Brisbane, QLD)/ JPMS Ensemble Brillante (Percussion Ensemble, Brisbane, QLD)/
Lammoyip Trio (Piano Trio, Sydney, NSW)/ The Lashavi Trio (Piano Trio, Sydney, NSW)/ Magnolia Quintet (Wind Quintet, Sydney, NSW)/
The Millenium Trio (Piano Trio, Perth, WA)/ Open School Trio (Piano Trio, Canberra, ACT)/ Piccolo Piano Quartet (Piano Quartet, Sydney, NSW)/ Serendipity Quartet (String Quartet, Sydney, NSW)

Hosted by ABC Classic presenter Ed Ayres, the very first Grand Final of Strike A Chord will be live streamed across Australia at 2pm AEST thanks to our presenting partners, Melbourne Digital Concert Hall. All twelve groups will have a performance featured during the online concert, with either a live performance from one of our satellite locations, or for those groups impacted by lockdown restrictions as a result of Covid19, a broadcast of their pre-recorded entry video.

Each of these twelve ensembles will be eligible for the prize pool totalling over $40,000 worth of cash and development opportunities. Audiences at home will also be invited to vote for their favourite performance on the day. The Audience Prize of $2,000, generously supported by the Druce Family, will be announced live alongside all the Major Prizes, including The Robert Salzer Prize of $5,000 for the winning ensemble.

To register for a free ticket to watch the Grand Final online, please click here.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *