APRA/AMCOS Art Music Award winners 2012.

Last week APRA/AMCOS announced its annual Art Music Awards winners for 2012.

The awards acknowledge achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian music.

There are ten national awards and several State Awards which include these categories as well as outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music, music education and regional music. The Art Music Awards were previously known as the Classical Music Awards. The new title has enabled the inclusion of three new categories: Jazz Work of the Year, Award for Excellence in Experimental Music and, as a new category for 2012, Award for Excellence in Jazz.

This year’s stand out winners include:

The New South Wales State Award for Performance of the Year: Uncanny Valley by Nicholas Vines, performed by Zubin Kanga

Performance of the Year: Two Memorials for Anton Webern and John Lennon by James Ledger, performed by the West Australian     Symphony Orchestra, Conductor Paul Daniel.

Instrumental Work of the Year:  Sextet by Brett Dean, performed by the Australia Ensemble and published by Boosey & Hawkes Inc, sub published by Hal Leonard Australia Pty Ltd.

Orchestral Work of the Year: Missa Solis – Requiem for Eli by Nigel Westlake, text by John Weiley, Hannie Rayson & Michael Cathcart, performed by the Sydney Symphony conducted by Nigel Westlake.

Vocal/Choral Work of the Year: Osanna Mass by Clare Maclean, performed by the Sydney Chamber Choir, Conductor Paul Stanhope

For the full list of winners see:


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *