Australia Piano Quartet – Mozart,Saint-Saëns And A World Premiere Australian Work

The Australia Piano Quartet
The Australia Piano Quartet

The Australia Piano Quartet (AQ) presents its final concert for the year performing music by Mozart and Saint-Saëns along with the world premiere of a newly commissioned work by Sydney composer Alex Pozniak.

Resident at the University of Technology, Sydney, the ensemble comprises pianist Evgeny Ukhanov, cellist and co-Artistic Director, Thomas Rann, violinist Rebecca Chan and violist, co-Artistic Director and founding member James Wannan. 

 Evgeny Ukhanov began his studies in the Ukraine, aged 7 and has performed as soloist with Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Australian Chamber Orchestra and Sydney Youth Orchestra. Thomas Rann has performed as a soloist and chamber musician at international venues which include the Wigmore Hall, St. Martin-in-the-Fields, Westminster Abbey, St. James’ Palace and the Tonhalle, Zurich. Melbourne born Rebecca Chan completed degrees in Medicine and Arts before her main musical studies at the Australian National Academy of Music (ANAM) and the Sydney Conservatorium. James Wannan has appeared as soloist with the Melbourne Chamber Orchestra,  the Melbourne Symphony Orchestra and has been invited to perform as guest principal viola with the Hong Kong Philharmonic Orchestra; 

The Australia Piano Quartet has toured nationally, performing at the Melbourne Recital Centre and Elder Hall Adelaide; it has established a concert series at Sydney’s Independent Theatre, debuted at the Utzon Room, appeared annually on ABC Classic FM’s Sunday Live, and created an innovative collaborative concert series as Ensemble in Residence at UTS. In 2014 the ensemble also performed at London’s Barbican Centre.

The programme: Mozart Piano Quartet in G Minor/Pozniak – New Work (Australia Quartet 2014 Commission)/Saint-Saëns Piano Quartet in B Flat Op. 41  

Tickets: click here to book – limited availability.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *