Australian Haydn Ensemble Returns To Live Performance

The Australian Haydn Ensemble returns to live performance with a hypnotic programme of music, inspired by sleep. The subject of dreams has long occupied the imagination of composers, poets and artists. The AHE explores this subject with an intriguing collection of works including Haydn’s Dream Quartet, Bach’s Goldberg Variations and Beethoven’s interpretation of Shakespeare’s Tomb Scene from Romeo and Juliet.

Haydn’s string quartet Op. 50 No. 5, The Dream, takes its nickname from the gorgeous ‘poco adagio’ second movement that features rocking chords that create a gentle hypnotic ‘dream-like’ effect.

Bach’s famous Goldberg Variations, were written at the request of Count Kaiserling for Goldberg to lull him to sleep during his many nights of insomnia. Originally written for the harpsichord, the AHE performs a newly commissioned arrangement for string quartet.

Also in the programme, Beethoven’s magnificent String Quartet Op. 18 No. 1. The slow movement of this work is thought to have been inspired by the tragic Tomb Scene of Shakespeare’s Romeo and Juliet, where Romeo, finding Juliet asleep, believes her to be dead and takes his own life in vain.

The performers: The Australian Haydn Ensemble: Skye McIntosh and Matthew Greco violins, Karina Schmitz viola, Daniel Yeadon cello.

Read our review of a recent online performance of this programme.

Just 125 tickets available.

Bookings and venue information.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *