Australian String Quartet: Metamorphoses


The Australian String Quartet. Photo credit Jacqui Way

The Australian String Quartet performs quartets by Mozart, Ligeti and Ravel, each inspired by the work of a peer.

Based at the University of Adelaide, Elder Conservatorium of Music, violinists Dale Barltrop and Francesca Hiew, violist Stephen King and cellist Sharon Draper play instruments made by the 18th century Italian luthier, Giovanni Battista Guadagnini, creating a beautifully blended sound.

Haydn’s quartets were a great influence on the young Mozart; similarly Ligeti owes a debt to Bartók and Ravel to Debussy – yet their voices are entirely unique.  Mozart brings a democratic balance to string quartet writing in this, the last of his 23 string quartets. Ligeti merges 17 contrasting miniatures that stretch the capabilities and sound world of the modern string quartet in one seamless journey.  Ravel’s only foray into the quartet medium was a revolutionary exploration of texture and colour.

The programme: Mozart  String Quartet in F major K590/ Ligeti  String Quartet no 1, Métamorphoses Nocturnes/ Ravel  String Quartet in F major

Click here to book.




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *