Loading Events
  • This event has passed.

« All Events

Rachmaninoff and Thereafter

June 17 @ 6:30 pm

The founders of the “Rachmaninoff-150th” concert series, pianists Alexander Yau and Ching Pong (Dono) Ng, celebrate the works of the composer and his successors with a chamber music concert.

Their chamber music concert, Rachmaninoff and Thereafter features three substantial Russian duos – from Rachmaninoff’s Two-Piano Suite no. 1 Fantasie-Tableaux, Prokofiev’s retrospective Cello Sonata to Medtner’s late masterpiece Violin Sonata no. 3 Epica. All three works showcase the capacity and versatility of the piano as an instrument and in the sonatas, its timbre complemented and extended by the vibrancy of the violin and cello.

Their recently concluded series featured the majority of Rachmaninoff’s solo piano and chamber music output, along with his most influential contemporaries including Tchaikovsky, Arensky, Godowsky and Medtner, as an acknowledgement to their contributions in musical and pianistic development from the late 19th century.


The program:

Sergei Rachmaninoff 2-Piano Suite no. 1 in G minor, op. 5 – Ching Pong (Dono) Ng, piano/ Alexander Yau, piano

Sergei Prokofiev  Sonata for Cello and Piano in C major, op. 119 Alexander Yau, piano/ Miles Mullin-Chivers, cello


Nikolai Medtner Sonata for Violin and Piano no. 3 in E minor, op. 57 – “Epica” – Beatrice Colombis, violin/ Ching Pong (Dono) Ng, piano

(Approximately 100 minutes, inclusive of a 15-minute interval)







Recital Hall West, Sydney Conservatorium of Music
1 Conservatorium Road
Sydney, New South Wales 2000 Australia
+ Google Map