Miloš Releases New Album Ahead Of Australian Tour

Classical guitarist Miloš has released a new album Baroque on the Sony Classical label. Miloš returns to Sydney (5 November) after an absence of a decade with a concert at the City Recital Hall, followed by concerts in Melbourne (8,9 November) and Perth (12 November).

Baroque is a carefully curated selection of baroque treasures especially transcribed and arranged for the guitar. At the heart of this recording is Miloš own transcription of Bach’s monumental Chaconne amidst other masterpieces by JS Bach and composers of the era, including D Scarlatti, Couperin and Rameau. Miloš’ selections present the guitar across a wide range of European influences not limited to the more familiar Spanish context.

There is plenty of light and shade within the music, reflecting baroque’s unique chiaroscuro character. Works such as Alessandro Marcello’s Adagio from the Oboe Concerto in D Minor; Domenico Scarlatti’s Sonata in D minor; the Menuet from George Frideric Handel’s Suite in B-Flat Major; Jean-Philippe Rameau’s The Arts and the Hours or François Couperin’s Les Barricades mystérieuses offer more introspective moments, while movements from Antonio Vivaldi’s La Notte and L’estro Armonico, originally written as a concerto for 4 violins, or Boccherini’s Fandango from Quintet No. 4 in D Major provide fireworks of thrilling virtuosity.

Miloš worked very closely with conductor, cellist and keyboard player Jonathan Cohen and his ensemble Arcangelo on all the orchestral transcriptions, and with Michael Lewin, the eminent British guitarist and lutenist his teacher at the Royal Academy of Music in London and with whom he now shares a wonderful creative collaboration.

Miloš came to note in 2011, when his debut album held the no. 1 position in the UK Classical charts for 28 week. He has since built an impressive international career with solo recitals and concertos at the world’s leading concert venues. His six studio albums have sold the equivalent of over half a million copies and conquered the classical album charts in multiple territories, earning him a Classical BRIT, Echo Klassik and two Gramophone Awards. His long list of musical collaborators includes Yannick Nézet-Séguin, Lisa Batiashvili, Alison Balsom, Tori Amos, Gregory Porter and Anoushka Shankar.

Baroque will be released internationally on Sony Classical on 13 October 2023 on CD and Digital formats.



  1. Scarlatti: Sonata in D minor K 32
  2. Vivaldi: Concerto No. 2 in G Minor, RV 439, “La Notte”: VI. Allegro
  3. Rameau: The Arts and the Hours
  4. Händel: Suite in B-Flat Major, HWV 434: IV. Menuet
  5. Vivaldi: Concerto in B Minor, RV 580: I. Allegro
  6. Weiss: Passacaglia
  7. Scarlatti: Sonata in F Minor, K 466
  8. Vivaldi: Concerto in B Minor, RV 580: III. Allegro
  9. Vivaldi: Bach: Partita No. 2 in D Major BWV 1004: Chaconne
  10. Marcello: Oboe Concerto in D Minor: II. Adagio
  11. Boccherini: Quintet No. 4 in D Major G 448: IV. Fandango
  12. Weiss: Fantasie
  13. Couperin: Les Barricades mystérieuses
  14. Vivaldi: Trio Sonata in C Major, RV 82: III. Allegro


Similar Posts

One Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *