Omega Ensemble Performs Mozart

Omega Ensemble. Image David Boyce
Omega Ensemble. Image David Boyce

Omega Ensemble presents the first of four concerts in their 2019 Virtuoso Series with a performance of Mozart’s incomparable Serenade No 10 in B flat, the Gran Partita, K361 .

Considered Mozart’s greatest work for winds, the ‘Gran Partita’ Serenade for 13 musicians is as captivating today as it was groundbreaking at its first performance.

For this concert, Omega Ensemble has secured the A-team of Australian wind players, including Celia Craig (former Principal Oboe, ASO), Mark Gaydon (Principal Bassoon, ASO), Richard Rourke (OBO), John Lewis, as well as Alex Henery (Principal Double Bass, SSO) all led by Omega Ensemble Artistic Director and Founder David Rowden (clarinet).

Mozart’s love of winds was matched by his mastery of the keyboard, and this concert brings together both with his Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-Flat Major, and a thrilling performance by Omega Co-Artistic Director Maria Raspopova of the Piano Sonata No. 11 in A major.
Grand Mozart

The programme: Mozart Quintet for Piano and Winds in E-Flat Major/ Mozart Serenade in B-Flat Major ‘Gran Partita’/ Mozart Piano Sonata No. 11 in A Major

Tickets from $49.00
Bookings: call 02 8256 2222 or book online at


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *