Omega Ensemble Presents ‘Fairy Tales’

David Rowden
David Rowden

Omega Ensemble presents Fairy Tales, featuring the music of Schumann, Bruch and Borodin performed by Artistic Director David Rowden (clarinet) with Catalin Ungureanu (violin), Airena Nakamura (violin), Neil Thompson (viola), Paul Stender (cello), Maria Raspopova (piano) and Samuel Hogarth (piano)

The ensemble celebrates musical tales old and new in a world of magical moments and refreshing musical interpretations. At the centrepiece of this concert is Schumann’s Fairy Tales. Composed late in life after a period of dark depression he was inspired by the young spirit of Brahms who had come to visit him and gave him the incentive to compose.

Also included are Samuel Hogarth’s brand-new Trio for clarinet, cello, and piano composed especially for Omega and Bruch’s Eight pieces for Clarinet, Viola, and Piano. Written when he was 70 years old, these characteristic pieces are full of joy, passion and lamentation as Bruch’s lush and mellow sound world of Romanticism was being replaced by a new compositional language.

Concluding this concert is Borodin’s String Quartet No.2 which was composed for his wife to celebrate their anniversary and is based on a reflection of their first meeting.


Tickets: Adult $99 | Conc. $69 | Under 30 $29

Bookings: (02) 9250 7777 or


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *