Orava Quartet’s Czech Fantasy

OravaQuartet sqaure

The Orava Quartet brings its unique brand of youthful intensity and passion to performance in Czech Fantasy, the music of Haydn, Schulhoff and Debussy.

Czech Fantasy features Haydn’s String Quartet Op. 77, dedicated to the young Czech Prince Lobkowitz and considered to be his finest in this form. A fondness for the music of Czech composer, Erwin Schulhoff, has prompted his dance-like Five Pieces for String Quartet, one of his most enduring works. In a fitting finale, to mark the centenary of Debussy’s passing, Orava Quartet performs his String Quartet in G minor, a ground-breaking work in its time and one of the best-loved in the repertoire.

The Orava Quartet was founded in 2007 by brothers Daniel Kowalik (violin) and Karol Kowalik (cello) and Thomas Chawner (viola). They were joined in 2011 by David Dalseno (violin).

The first Australian string quartet invited to sign with Deutsche Grammophon Australia, Orava Quartet has earned a reputation and devoted following for its visceral and thrilling performances bringing its unique sound and breathtaking intensity to the classics of the string quartet canon.

Tickets: $55 + bf child or student/ $65 + bf pensioner/$75 + bf general admission

Bookings   or call (02) 9250 7777










Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *