Paul Lowin Prizes Shortlist

2022 Paul Lowin Prizes Shortlist has been announced and it features six Australian composers shortlisted for outstanding Orchestral and Song Cycle works. The prizes are two of the richest music composition prizes offered in Australia.

The Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize recognises excellence in Australian compositions for voices and chamber ensemble. The shortlist for the prize comprises works by Brett Dean, Elliott Gyger, and Cameron Lam.

The Paul Lowin Orchestral Prize recognises excellence in composition for modern chamber or symphony orchestra. On the shortlist for this prize are Anne Cawrse, Paul Dean, and Matthew Hindson.

The shortlisted works have been selected in a blind assessment for their merit in composition technique and contribution to the repertoire. With the spirit of the competition, the Paul Lowin Prizes commends works by Australian composers that are “modern but not too modern” in style.
Earlier this year, the competition called for nominations for orchestral and song cycle works written in the past three years. Nearly 100 entries submitted by composers and the general public were judged in the competition. 

The recipients of the Paul Lowin Prizes will be announced at a special awards ceremony in Sydney on Monday 14 November 2022. This year, the award ceremony will take place in conjunction with the annual Peggy Glanville-Hicks Address, with two keynote speeches to be delivered by music education advocate Dr Anita Collins and one of Australia’s leading First Nations composer and didgeridoo performer, William Barton.

Brett Dean – Madame ma bonne sœur (2021) for mezzo-soprano and string quartet
Elliott Gyger – Autobiochemistry (2019) for mezzo-soprano and cello
Cameron Lam – The Splendour of Lying Naked in the Sun (2022) for soprano, mezzo-soprano, counter tenor, tenor, baritone, and bass.

Anne Cawrse – The Rest is Silence – Concerto for Cor Anglais and Orchestra (2021)
Paul Dean – Symphony No. 1, “Black Summer” (2021)
Matthew Hindson – Soprano Saxophone Concerto (2019)

Previous recipients of the Paul Lowin Orchestral Prizes include Nigel Westlake, Lachlan Skipworth, Mary Finsterer, and Liza Lim. Previous recipients of the Paul Lowin Song Cycle Prize include Katy Abbott, Brett Dean, and Rosalind Page.

The Paul Lowin Prizes are a testament to the impact of philanthropy in fostering and encouraging the creation of new music. Nominations for the prizes are accepted from the general public as well as composers and music professionals. The Paul Lowin Prizes are managed by Perpetual as Trustee for the Paul Lowin Trust and presented in collaboration with the Australian Music Centre.

The Australian Music Centre (AMC) is the national service organisation dedicated to the promotion and support of both the art form of music and the creators and performers of contemporary classical, improvised jazz, experimental music and sound art in Australia.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *