Pure Quartet Bliss From The Flinders Quartet


 The Flinders Quartet launches its 2014 season with with a program of chamber music that is both popular and central to the repertoire. Based in Melbourne, the ensemble comprises violinists Helen Ayres and Shane Chen, and founding members violist Helen Ireland and cellist Zoe Ireland.

Helen Ayres explains that the repertoire by Haydn, Shostakovich and Dvořák. has been carefully selected to highlight the artistry of the quartet: “These works are well-known, well-loved and essential quartet works that are musically rewarding for the ensemble and the audience.  They form part of the bedrock of great works in the chamber music canon and it is fitting that we perfect these works to showcase the new ‘face’ of Flinders Quartet at our 2014 launch.” 

Knighton commented that 2014 marks ‘the start of an exciting new journey’ for the quartet.“Change is not unusual in chamber ensembles so to have our first change after 12 years is quite an achievement. It has been a remarkably smooth process and we are relishing the excitement of playing with each other. Helen and Shane have so much to offer Flinders Quartet and we are thrilled to be continuing the Flinders Quartet journey with them.”

 The Programme: Pure Quartet Bliss

Haydn String Quartet Op. 77, No. 1 in G major

Shostakovich String Quartet No. 7 in F sharp minor, Op. 108

Dvořák String Quartet Op. 96 in F major (American)

Tickets: Standard $55 / Concession $50 (transaction fee may apply)

Bookings or call (02) 9250 7777  




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *