Seraphim Trio And Andrew Haveron Play Schumann And Korngold

Seraphim Trio - Anna Goldsworthy (piano), Timothy Nankervis (cello) and Helen Ayres (violin). Photo: Wolfgang Schmidt Germany
Seraphim Trio – Anna Goldsworthy (piano), Timothy Nankervis (cello) and Helen Ayres (violin). Photo: Wolfgang Schmidt Germany

Sydney Symphony Concertmaster Andrew Haveron and violist Jacqueline Cronin join Seraphim Trio to perform Schumann’s masterpiece, the Quintet in E flat major as part of the Independent Theatre’s popular Sunday afternoon Prelude in Tea series which includes a mouth-watering selection of cakes and refreshements.

Adding the keyboard as an equal partner to the established string quartet, Schumann invented an electrifying new genre capable of bringing chamber music out of the private salon and into the public concert hall.

To be equally treasured is Korngold’s Suite Op. 23 for two violins, cello and keyboard. The suite was commissioned by left-handed pianist Paul Wittgenstein and reveals Korngold’s Late Viennese heritage, combining a rich lyricism with modern rhythmic vitality.

Jacqui Cronin and Andrew Haveron
Jacqui Cronin and Andrew Haveron

Over the last two decades, Seraphim Trio, comprising Helen Ayres, Anna Goldsworthy and Tim Nankervis, has remained steadfastly committed to chamber music. Winner of the Piano Trio Prize and the Audience Choice Award at the Australian National Chamber Music Competition in 2001, Seraphim Trio has regularly performed at the Melbourne International Arts Festival, the Port Fairy Spring Music Festival, the Adelaide Festival of Arts, the Peninsular Summer Music Festival and in 2013, Opera Australia’s Ring Festival in Melbourne.

Seraphim Trio is also frequently broadcast on ABC Classic FM and on the MBS network, and maintains a robust commissioning program. Seraphim collaborates with Australia’s leading musicians, amongst them, Diana Doherty, Paul Dean, Lisa Harper-Brown and David Elton. The group has studied in Germany with Hatto Beyerle, and in Australia with William Hennessy, Eleonora Sivan, Mark Mogilevski, Ronald Farren-Price and Lois Simpson.

London-born Andrew Haveron has established himself as one of the most sought after violinists of his generation – a highly respected soloist, chamber musician and concertmaster. As first violinist of the Brodsky Quartet Andrew has performed all over the world. He has also appeared with numerous other groups such as the Nash and Hebrides ensembles, Kathy Selby and the Omega Ensemble. He is currently concertmaster of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra. Jacqui Cronin plays regularly with the Sydney, Melbourne and Tasmanian Symphony Orchestras, Australian Chamber Orchestra, Australian Opera and Ballet Orchestra and Orchestra Victoria.  An active chamber musician, she performs regularly with the Sydney Omega Ensemble and Sonus Piano Quartet.

The program: Korngold Suite for two violins, cello and piano, Op. 23 | Schumann Piano Quintet in E flat, Op. 44

Tickets: Adult $48, Concession and Under 30 $30, Student $22, Child $16 (includes afternoon tea)

Bookings or call (02) 9955 3000


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *