SIPCA People’s Choice Pianist Ayako Uehara In Recital

Pianist Ayako Uehara
Pianist Ayako Uehara

The Sydney International Piano Competition of Australia is marking its 40th Anniversary with a new National Recital Series, in which Japanese pianist Ayako Uehara will return to Australia for the second time since winning the People’s Choice in the competition 17 years ago.

The National Recital Series will see the return of some of the competition’s most highly regarded artists in performances across both regional and metropolitan Australia. As well as Uehara, Russia’s Konstantin Shamray and last year’s winner Andrey Gugnin will be performing superb recitals in 2017.

Making her professional debut with the London Symphony Orchestra in the 2005/06 season, Ayako Uehara, has become one of Japan’s most celebrated female pianists. She was the first woman (and Japanese) to win first prize in the 12th International Tchaikovsky Competition in Moscow (2002) and prior to that the People’s Choice Award at the 2000 Sydney International Piano Competition.

The programme: Mozart: Fantasia in D minor K.397/ Schumann: Fantasie in C Major Op.17


Mozart: Fantasia in C minor K.475/ Piano Sonata No.14 in C minor K.457/ Liszt: Après une Lecture du Dante: Fantasia quasi Sonata (from Années de Pèlerinage, Book II: Italie)

Tickets: Adults $55 I Concession/Friends $49 I Students $20 I Groups of 5+ $47

Tickets: Click here or call 02 9241 3291.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *