Sydney Antiphony Presents Death And Venice

Sydney Antiphony
Sydney Antiphony

Sydney Antiphony presents its second concert of 2014, Death and Venice, a programme centred around the monumental and macabre ‘Musikalische Exequien’ of 17th century German composer Heinrich Schütz.

Taking its cue from Schütz’s beguiling masterpiece, the remaining programme examines death in all its facets and explores musical links between Italy and Germany in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Sydney Antiphony comprises eight of Sydney’s finest ensemble singers from diverse backgrounds – sopranos Brooke Shelley and Sonya Holowell, mezzo-soprano Janine Harris, alto Helen Hughes, tenors Owen Elsley and Lachlan Hughes , baritone Robert Hansen and bass Philip Murray. Working without a conductor, the singers collaborate as chamber musicians in forging a fresh and unique approach to diverse styles of music, ranging from the early renaissance to the present day.

Programme includes:
Andrea GABRIELI (1532 – 1585) : Tirsi morir volea
Claudio MONTEVERDI (1567 – 1643) : Cor mio, non mori? E mori! (4th book of madrigals)
Orlande de LASSUS (1532 – 1594) : Prophetiae sibyllarum
Heinrich SCHÜTZ (1585 – 1672) : Vasto Mar (1st book of madrigals)
Heinrich SCHÜTZ (1582 – 1672) : Musikalische Exequien


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *