Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship Quarter-Finalists Announced

Boyd Owen
Boyd Owen, winner of the 2017 Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship. Image WinkiPop Media

Twenty-nine emerging opera singers have progressed to the Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship quarter-finals and will compete again on June 9 in hope of coming one step closer to securing their part of the $70,000 worth of prizes on offer. Sixteen of the qualifying singers will progress to the semi-final on June 10 and eight will progress to the final at The Concourse Concert Hall, Chatswood, on July 15.

Adjudicator Amelia Farrugia, Sydney Eisteddfod Alumni and Ambassador, selected this year’s Quarter-Finalists and will be joined by John Bolton-Wood AM for the quarter and semi-final rounds, with Dr Nicholas Milton AM, Sydney Eisteddfod Alumni and Ambassador, joining them in deciding the final.

The quarter finalists are: Shikara Ringdahl (Brisbane, QLD) Georgia Hall (Lake Macquarie) Chelsea Kluga (Perth, WA) Olivia Cranwell (Waterloo) Timothy Newton (Benowa, QLD) Matthew Lowe (St Kilda West, VIC) Rhian Saunders (St Ives) Anna Stephens (Ashfield) Claire Chehade-James (Botany) Adam Jon (Melbourne, VIC) Esther (Yee Eun) Song (Croydon Park) Isabella Moore (Auckland, NZ) Joshua Oxley (Lane Cove) Teresa Ingrilli (Alphington, VIC) Pamela Andrews (Rockdale) Alexandra Ioan (Melbourne, VIC) Jarvis Dams (Hamilton, NZ) Caitlin Cassidy (Wembley, WA) Emily Turner (Pyrmont) Chelsea Dolman (Waikato, NZ) Christopher Curcuruto (Croydon Park) Daniela Leska (Matraville) Michelle Ryan (Harwood) Morgan England (Lawnton, VIC) Daniel Macey (Darlinghurst) Celeste Haworth (Narrabeen) Shakira Tsindos (Ivanhoe, VIC) Cameron Taylor (Gaythorne, QLD) Eugene Raggio (Surry Hills)

Previously known as the Sun Aria, this annual event has been showcasing Australia’s operatic talent for the past 85 years and carries a total prize purse of $70,000. It has launched the careers of some of the nation’s greatest singers like Dame Joan Sutherland, Stuart Skelton, Stacey Alleaume, Darren Pene Pati and last year’s winner Boyd Owen.

In addition to the winner scholarship valued at $43,000, a 2nd scholarship and a people’s choice award will be on offer. The second place winner will be awarded a scholarship valued at $12,000, third place will receive $5,000 and the people’s choice award nominated by the live audience at the final is valued at $500. Non-placing finalists will receive $1,000 and semi-finalists who do not progress to the final will receive $500.

Both Quarter-Finals and Semi-Final will be held in the Smith Auditorium at Shore School, North Sydney. The Quarter-finals will take place on Saturday, June 9, 2018 at 1pm, while the SemiFinal will be held on Sunday, June 10 at 12pm.

General session tickets: Adults $20, Concession $16.
The Final will take place in The Concourse Concert Hall, Chatswood, on Sunday, 15 July at 2.30pm. Tickets: Adult $45, Concession $37.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *