The Idea Of North: Groove Sessions

The idea of North - Emma Rule, Naomi Crellin, Nick Begbie, Luke Thompson and Kia Kitamura
The Idea of North – Emma Rule, Naomi Crellin, Nick Begbie, Luke Thompson and Kia Kitamura

The Idea of North is back by popular demand with “Groove Sessions”, a spectacular afternoon of astonishing vocalisation and heart-warming music, all presented with the group’s endearing and WYSIWYG (What-You-See-Is-What-You-Get) style.

It is the first 2018 concert in the Independent Theatre’s ‘Prelude in Tea’ song series – and includes afternoon tea with refreshments and a mouth-watering array of cakes and fruits.

Comprising Nick Begbie, Luke Thompson, Emma Rule and Naomi Crellin, Australia’s premier a cappella quartet has added the unique talents of vocal percussionist Kai Kitamura to their crew, giving you five world-class vocalists. The Idea of North snapped Kai up and enticed him over from Japan to augment their ranks. What Kai can do really does have to be seen and heard. His virtuosity is difficult to describe, but even more difficult to not be astounded by. He’s the groove to The Idea of North’s jazz, the rock to their roll – an ideal and seamless addition to the group’s sound.

The Idea of North is one of Australia’s most awarded, best-loved and longest running contemporary vocal group. This multi-ARIA Award-winning ensemble astounds and moves with their incredible arrangements, flawless harmonies and dry humour. Audiences not only experience world-class a cappella singing, but they also leave feeling as though they’ve known each member of this down-to-earth group for years.

Since forming in 1993, there have been only a few changes to the line-up, but each time the group seems to improve their sound, their blend and their musicianship. Now, as a quintet, The Idea of North is in its most exciting and versatile incarnation yet.

Tickets: $48 adult, $30 conc, $22 student, and $16 child
Bookings (02) 9955 3000 or

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *