The Metropolitan Chamber Orchestra ends 2011 with a bang.

In their final concert for 2011, the Metropolitan Chamber Orchestra conducted by Sarah-Grace Williams presents a trio of joyous works.

Gounod’s Petite Symphony raises the curtain. A chamber work for nine wind instruments it showcases Gounod’s writing beyond his traditional genre, sans voices and opera orchestra. It’s style though, is unmistakable.

Also on the programme, Mendelssohn’s Symphony no 4 in A,’ Italian’. Mendelssohn enjoyed his travel and looked forward to his time in Italy with great excitement.  Having arrived there he described it as ” the supreme joy in life” and began to write the sketches that would become his Italian Symphony. Completed in Berlin in 1833, it was premiered in London that year, conducted by Mendelssohn. Ironically he wasn’t satisfied with the finished work, which caused him great frustration. Attempts to revise it were unsuccessful and its publication had to wait until after the composer’s death.

Haydn’s Symphony no 94 ‘Surprise’ comes with a warning to those who might think of nodding off.   Haydn’s  idea of musical humour was to also precede the ‘big bang’ with the gentle strains of ‘Twinkle Twinkle Little Star’!

Following the concert on Saturday, there will be complimentary champagne.

Tickets: $35/$25 Conc./$15 Child.

Book online at:

or call 1300 306 776

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *