2014 Art Music Award Finalists

download (1)

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre have announced the finalists for the 2014 Art Music Awards.

The awards recognise achievement in the composition, performance, education and presentation of Australian music and encompass a range of endeavours including outstanding contributions by individuals and organisations in Australian music, music education, experimental music, jazz and regional music.

The awards ceremony will be held in Melbourne on August 26th, hosted by Walkley Award-winning journalist, author and co-host of ABC-TV News Breakfast, Virginia Trioli. Recorder virtuoso Genevieve Lacey will once again curate the live performances for the event. 

Melbourne and Sydney continue their healthy rivalry with the orchestras of both cities vying for Performance of the Year with the Elias String Quartet and the Arcko Symphonic Ensemble; Carl Vine AO, is in the running for the Award for Excellence by an Individual for exemplary contribution to Musica Viva Australia in 2013 as Artistic Director, and to the wider arts and cultural industry; Ensemble Offspring with Oren Ambarchi and Martin Ng for Ligeti Morphed have been nominated for the Award for Excellence in Experimental Music; composers up for awards include Andrew Ford, Brett Dean, Mary Finsterer, Nigel Westlake, Dr Matthew Hindson AM, and Elliot Gyger.

Click here to see the complete list of finalists.

Nigel Westlake and vocalist Lior Attar have been nominated for Orchestral Work of the Year for Compassion, a song cycle for voice and orchestra based on ancient Hebrew and Arabic texts’performed by the Sydney Symphony Orchestra conducted by Nigel Westlake.

download1 (1)

Read our review of Compassion.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *