A special offer to hear Mozart and Hindemith


The former Berlin Philharmonic oboist Hansjörg Schellenberger directs this program which showcases performers from the Sydney Symphony performing music written by two of the greatest composers for wind instruments WA Mozart and P Hindemith.

Hindemith’s Concerto for Winds, Harp and Orchestra was written in 1949. It’s a modern concerto grosso, scored for flute, oboe, clarinet and bassoon with an orchestra of strings and brass. The clarinet plays Mendelssohn’s ‘Wedding March’ in the final movement. rising above the surrounding polyphony.

Mozart’s Gran Partita is a serenade in 7 movements for 13 instruments (twelve winds and string bass), giving it the alternative title of The Serenade No. 10 for winds in B flat major, K 361/370a. The piece was probably composed in 1781 or 1782 and uses a variety of musical forms within its 7 movement structure.

Hansjörg Schellenberger – Conductor

HINDEMITH P- Concerto for winds and harp
MOZART WA –Gran Partita – Serenade in B flat, K361
Adult tickets start from $52 and Concessions are available (additional fees may apply).

Book A Reserve tickets by Monday 20 May and receive B Reserve prices* Click here to book online.

Book by phone on (02) 8256 2222 or in person at City Recital Hall Angel Place using the promotion code SYMPHONY.

*Limited time only. Offer available only for new bookings and not to be used with any other offer. Offer valid until Monday 20 May 2013. Additional f

ees may apply.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *