Angela Hewitt performs in Sydney



Pianist Angel Hewitt’s interpretations of the keyboard works of J S Bach have defined her as the foremost exponent of this repertoire in the 21st century. In 2005, she completed an 11 year project to record all his major keyboard works – described by The Sunday Times as “one of the record glories of our age”. In 2007-2008 Hewitt toured the world performing the complete collection of The Well-Tempered Clavier.

Under the auspices of Music Viva she performs two concerts in Sydney, which will include one of Bach’s most remarkable pieces, The Art of Fugue and some smaller golden musical filigree including late sonatas by Beethoven.

The Programme:

Monday 30 September 7pm

BACH (arranged by Wilhelm Kempff for piano) Nun komm, der Heiden Heiland BWV659, from Eighteen Leipzig Chorale Preludes

Siciliano in G minor from Flute Sonata in E flat, BWV1031

Sinfonia in D major from Cantata no 29 Wir danken dir, Gott, wir danken dir, BWV29
BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata no 28 in A major, op 101 (c 1816)
BACH The Art of Fugue, BWV1080 Contrapunctus I-X

Saturday 12 October, 2pm concert

BACH Chromatic Fantasia and Fugue in D minor, BWV903

BEETHOVEN Piano Sonata no 31 in A flat major, op 110

BACH The Art of Fugue, BWV1080 Contrapunctus X-XIV & Canons


Tickets: Adult tickets are $40-$104 (additional fees may apply). Concessions available.

By phone (02) 8256 2222 On line at or in person at City Recital Hall Angel Place

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *