Australia Quartet performs at The Independent

Australia Quartet.


The Australia Quartet’s 2013 series takes off at the Independent Theatre in North Sydney, following its inaugural four-concert season in 2012 at Sydney’s University of Technology,  where it is Ensemble in Residence. The Independent Theatre 2013 Series will feature two concerts, one in April and the other in June.

Comprising four of Australia’s most highly regarded chamber musicians, its mission is to spur new interest in classical music by championing contemporary Australian composers, breathing new life into rarely-performed masterpieces, and presenting the best-loved works of the piano quartet canon to both new, and established audiences.

The musicians, pianist  Tamara-Anna Cislowska, violinist Veronique Serret, violist James Wannan and cellist Thomas Rann have variously performed as members of the Australian Chamber Orchestra, Camerata of St John, and as regular guests of major orchestras and festivals both nationally and internationally. They have all been recipients of numerous prizes, including a Churchill Fellowship and a 2012 Art Music Award.

Each performance will take listeners on a journey through exciting musical territory, providing joyful discovery and dynamic vibrancy in each hour-long concert.

Tickets: $38.00 (Adults) / $15.00 (Students/Concession)

Bookings:  or 1300 302 604


Concert 1: The Patriot

5.00pm Saturday 20 April 2013

Ross Edwards Emerald Crossing for piano quartet (1999)

Bohuslav Martinu Piano Quartet no.1 (1942)

Camille Saint-Saens Piano Quartet no.1 in B flat major, Op. 41

Concert 2: Inspirations

5.00pm Saturday 1 June 2013

Gustav Mahler Piano Quartet in a minor

Alfred Schnittke Piano Quartet (after Mahler)

Elena Kats-Chernin ‘Winter’ from The Seasons arr. piano quartet

Josef Suk Piano Quartet in a minor, Op. 1

Australia Quartet: Tamara-Anna Cislowska, piano/Veronique Serret, violin/James Wannan, viola/Thomas Rann, cello

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *