Flinders Quartet Explores Shostakovich String Quartets

Flinders Quartet. Image Pia Johnson
Flinders Quartet. Image Pia Johnson

Flinders Quartet presents SHOSTAKOVICH: through the lens of the string quartet,  a program of selected movements from Shostakovich string quartets in the popular Prelude in Tea Series at North Sydney’s spectacular Independent Theatre, which includes the legendary afternoon tea!

Inspired by Wendy Lesser’s book Music for Silenced Voices, Melbourne’s Flinders Quartet is pushing creative boundaries with its take on a 21st century Shostakovich cycle: surmising Shostakovich’s life through his string quartets in a condensed 80-minute concert program.

Together with well-loved director and dramaturge, Richard Piper, Flinders Quartet tells the story of Shostakovich through the lens of selected harrowing string quartet movements that articulate alienation, oppression, persecution and the fears of asylum seekers; curated with accompanying projected images and the spoken word, it’s a story that speaks of a man loyal to his friends (sometimes to a fault) – as well as living in constant fear.

Last year, the quartet merged music and verse with violist Chris Moore producing a poetic ‘multi-media’ Midsummer Night’s Dream gala that wowed audiences and critics alike. The quartet has developed an enviable reputation as musicians of artistic excellence and inventive projects. This concert promises to set a new benchmark for innovative chamber music.

Dmitri Shostakovich: String Quartet Cycle: Selected movements from the string quartets of Shostakovich
Curated by Flinders Quartet & dramaturge Richard Piper
Tickets: $49 adult, $32 concession/under 30, $22 student, $17 child

Bookings or call (02) 9955 3000

 View a 30 second video trailer here: https://vimeo.com/299103567


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *