HIP times with the new ‘orchestra seventeen88’



There is a HIP new orchestra on Sydney’s music scene. In the case of orchestra seventeen88 their HIP style refers to Historically Informed Performance – surely one of the coolest trends of our times.

Four of Australia’s most renowned musicians – conductor and educator Richard Gill OAM, violinist Rachael Beesley, clarinettist Nicole van Bruggen and conductor Benjamin Bayl – formed  orchestra seventeen88 as a professional ensemble of Australian musicians based in Australia, with Australian counterparts based in Europe and the USA who perform on period instruments at a world class level. Combining historical integrity and musical excellence, orchestra seventeen88 promises to lead a rediscovery of the Classical and Romantic repertoire with the beauty and clarity of a full period instrument orchestra. 

orchestra seventeen88 will perform repertoire spanning from the late Rococo to the Romantic era. Expanding on the core of works from this period they will include orchestral as well as large scale chamber and vocal music. This inspiring and highly influential period of composition, demonstrating the depth and passion of the time, will be placed in context and highlight significant yet under represented composers who, in their day, were admired, fashionable and popular. 

As well as performing, orchestra seventeen88 is equally committed to education, which is essential to the well-being and preservation of the performance ideals of the 18th and 19th centuries. orchestra seventeen88 will impart this HIP style of research and performance, and encourage current and future generations of musicians and audiences to renew their appreciation, knowledge and experience of Classical and Romantic repertoire in this country.

Artistic Director Richard Gill OAM will host the launch concert which will be conducted by Benjamin Bayl and feature soprano Jacqueline Dark singing arias from  Mozart operas.

The programme: 

Schubert Overture in B flat major D470 

Mozart Arias: Ah! chi mi dice mai (Don Giovanni)/Voi che sapete (Le Nozze di Figaro) 

Mendelssohn String Symphony No 10 in B minor

Mozart Symphony No.39 in E flat major K.543

Tickets are not required for the launch and the audience is requested to arrive early for the best seat. 

All performers are donating their time to launch orchestra seventeen88. 



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *