Supernatural Sounds from The Reservoir Trio

Earth-Supernatural poster

Be spooked with The Reservoir Trio’s mid-winter programme which explores music inspired by both the earth and the world of the supernatural. 

Beethoven’s D major trio has acquired the nickname Ghost based on its “strangely scored and undeniably eerie-sounding slow movement”.  Its outer movements are, however, completely typical of Beethoven’s ‘middle period’, and consist of music which is earthly and absolutely human. 

Sydney-based composer Elena Kats-Chernin chose the piano trio configuration for her piece which tells the legend of The Spirit and the Maiden, and the Danse Macabre by Saint-Saens depicts the gruesome scene in which, at midnight, the skeletons of the dead rise from their graves and dance to Death’s demonic tune.

The Artists: Ursula Nelius – violin/Paul Stender – cello/Chris Cartner – piano

The Programme: 

L. van Beethoven – Piano Trio no.5    in D major, op.70 no.1, TheGhost/ E. Kats-Chernin – The Spirit and the Maiden/C. Saint-Saëns – Danse Macabre.

Tickets $25 (concession $20)







Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *