Omega Ensemble Bridges Classical And Romantic Eras in ‘Joy’

Veronique Serret
Veronique Serret

Omega Ensemble under Co-Artistic Directors David Rowden and Maria Raspopova presents JOY: Farrenc and Beethoven, featuring works of new beginnings performed by violinist Veronique Serret and pianist Clemens Leske. They join forces for a powerful presentation of Beethoven’s ‘Spring’  Sonata. This work for violin and piano celebrates new directions in music bridging the Classical and Romantic periods.

Included in the programme is the exuberant Nonet by nineteenth century composer Louise Farrenc, the trailblazing female composer and  Schubert’s Notturno, a gift of melody in all its glory. The evening concludes with Russian Rag by one of Australia’s favourite composers, Elena Kats-Chernin,  in a very special arrangement by the composer for Omega Ensemble.

Preconcert talk: 6.45pm – 7.15pm by Mark Grandison
Program: Franz Schubert: Notturno in E flat major, Op. 148/ Ludwig van Beethoven: Violin Sonata No.5 in F major, Op. 24, “Spring”/ Louise Farrenc: Nonet in E flat Major, Op. 38/ Elena Kats-Chernin: Russian Rag (Nonet arrangement by the composer for Omega Ensemble).




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *