Omega Ensemble Premieres Kats-Chernin And Kerry

Sally Walker, David Rowden and Neil Thompson

When: Sat 27 Feb – 2:30pm & 6:30pm

Where: Sydney Opera House

Omega Ensemble begins its 2021 national tour with a program of stunning concertos and “quincertos”, including Chopin’s Piano Concerto No 1  performed by acclaimed Australian pianist Clemens Leske in a thrilling new presentation for piano quintet.

This revealing performance also includes the first public performances of Gordon Kerry’s new Clarinet Quintet, and the world premiere of a new Flute Quintet by celebrated composer Elena Kats-Chernin, based on her own Flute Concerto and premiered by flautist Sally Walker for whom the original concerto was written.

The Program: Frédéric Chopin Piano Concerto No. 1 in E minor, Op. 11 (for Piano Quintet)/ Elena Kats-Chernin Flute Quintet “Night and Now” (after Flute Concerto) [World Premiere]/ Gordon Kerry Clarinet Quintet

Duration: 90 mins without interval (approx.)
Concerts in Penrith, Newcastle and Melbourne as well.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *