Omega Ensemble – Summer Winds: From Beethoven To Ravel

Flautist Sally Walker
Flautist Sally Walker

Omega Ensemble sets sail in a discovery of the mystical and mythical, celebrating all things woodwind in Summer Winds: From Beethoven to Ravel. The programme includes Debussy’s virtuosic Syrinx for Solo Flute, Beethoven’s Duo for Bassoon and Clarinet and a striking woodwind arrangement of Ravel’s Le Tombeau de Couperin, a deeply personal homage to friends he lost during World War I.

Also on the programme are is the Wind Quintet, a showcase for wind instruments by the 19th century French flautist, conductor and composer, Paul Taffanel. At the centre of this nautically-themed concert is Malcolm Arnold’s delightful Sea Shanties. Composed in 1943 these pieces are as much fun for the performer as they are for the listener.

The programme: Debussy “Syrinx”, for Solo Flute/ Taffanel Wind Quintet in G minor/ Beethoven Duo for Bassoon and Clarinet/ Ravel Le Tombeau de Couperin/ Arnold Three Shanties for Wind Quintet, Op. 4

The performers: Sally Walker (flute), Celia Craig (oboe), David Rowden (clarinet), Ben Hoadley (bassoon), Michael Dixon (horn)

Tickets: from $99


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *