Screen Music Awards 2018 Nominees Announced


The nominees for the 2018 Screen Music Awards have been announced. The Awards, staged jointly by APRA AMCOS and the AGSC, celebrate achievements in music composition for documentaries, short films, children’s television, advertising, film and television soundtrack albums, as well as feature films.

Collaborators Antony Partos and Matteo Zingales have four nominations together for screen compositions spanning the categories of Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie (Wake in Fright and Mystery Road), and for Feature Film Score of the Year and Best Soundtrack Album for the Ramin Bahrani directed HBO film Fahrenheit 451.

Matteo Zingales has six nominations overall, while Antony Partos has received five nods in total. Caitlin Yeo follows with four nominations for her work on The House with Annabel Crabb (Best Music for a Mini-Series or Telemovie), in the Best Music for a Short Film category for Barbara and in the Best Soundtrack Album and Feature Film Score of the Year categories for the coming-of-age tale The Butterfly Tree.

Also represented in the Feature Film Score of the Year category is veteran composer Christopher Gordon for the Bruce Beresford directed Ladies in Black. Rounding out this category is composer and dual nominee Richard Pleasance for Brothers’ Nest, the dark comedy starring Shane Jacobson, Clayton Jacobson and Kim Gyngell. Other multiple nominees are Dale Cornelius, Rafael May and first-time Screen Music nominee composer Sean Tinnion.

First-time nominees include Justine Clarke, Emily Wurramara, Jackson Milas, Ben Lam, Oscar Joe Gross, David Cheshire and Jojo Rainwater.

An independent panel of highly respected Australian film and television composers have decided the nominees across 10 of the award categories. Nominees for Most Performed Screen Composer – Australia and Most Performed Screen Composer – Overseas have been determined by analysis of performance activity. The recipient of the Distinguished Services to the Australian Screen Award (as determined by APRA Board of Directors) will be announced soon.

The winners of the 2018 Screen Music Awards will be announced at a gala event in Sydney at the City Recital Hall on Monday 19 November. Musical Director Jessica Wells will conduct an orchestra that will perform a selection of nominated compositions and Denise Scott will host the ceremony.
Click here for all the nominations.


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *