Six Choirs Vie For The Inaugural Australian Choral Grand Prix

The PLC Sydney Chamber Choir


Commemorating Sydney Eisteddfod’s 80th anniversary and the 25th anniversary of the Sydney Cove Rotary Club, the Sydney Eisteddfod presents the inaugural Australian Choral Grand Prix, an event which carries $25,000 in prize value and will undoubtedly be hotly contested by the 6 choirs competing for the title.

Vying for the prize are the 1st and 2nd placegetters of the Sydney Eisteddfod John Lamble Foundation Australasian Championship. They are  Waitara Voices from Waitara Primary School inWahroonga and The King’s School Preparatory School Chamber Choir from Parramatta, who were placed 1st and 2nd in the Primary/Infant division;   PLC Sydney Chamber Choir (Croydon) and Fort Street High School Chamber Choir (Petersham) who were first and second placegetters in the Youth (19/U) division, and the first and second place getters in the Open Age division, Soulfood from Cammeray, and Shine Chorus from Canada Bay.

Soulfood – winners of the John Lamble Foundation Australasian Open Choral Championship, 2013.

Adjudicating the inaugural Australian Choral Grand Prix will be Dr. Ronald Smart PSM, Lyn Williams OAM and Brett Weymark.

The evening will be hosted by Kamahl. Guest artists for the evening include soprano Amelia Farrugia a former winner of Sydney Eisteddfod McDonald’s Operatic Aria and pianist Tamara Anna Cislowska.

Proceeds from the event will go to Sydney Eisteddfod’s Scholarship Fund and the Auburn-2-Africa Project, raising funds to build a Primary School in Sierra Leone, West Africa as well as to the Rotary Club of Sydney Cove to enable the continuation of its work in the community both in Australia and overseas.

Tickets:  $35 Adult $99 Family (2 Adults 2 Children);

Special Ticket: $100: includes one adult concert ticket, opportunity to mingle with the stars, finger food and a $50 (donation) request

Book at or by phoning (02) 9261 8366



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *