Soaring, Swinging, Singing Sax And Strings

Nick Russionello and the Golden Age String Quartet

Nick Russionello and the Golden Age String Quartet

Award winning saxophonist Nick Russoniello performs with unrivalled virtuosity on an original 1920’s C-melody saxophone alongside period string quartet Golden Age Quartet in a concert to blow away any mid-winter blues!  And, as always in this series, the concert includes a complementary delicious selection of cakes & refreshments.

This unique concert experience allows listeners to experience the music of the early twentieth century on original instruments and in a manner inspired by the highly expressive playing styles of Rudy Wiedoeft, Al Gallodoro, Fritz Kreisler, Albert Sammons and the London String Quartet.

Nick Russoniello, has won a number of major awards including the ABC Symphony Australia Young Performer of the Year and the Fine Music Kruger Scholarship. Nick has appeared as a soloist with the Adelaide, Queensland, Melbourne and Sydney Symphony Orchestras and as a guest performer with the Acacia Quartet, Omega Ensemble, Australian Opera Ballet Orchestra and the Australian World Orchestra. Nick’s compositions have been performed around the globe and his performances can be regularly heard on ABC Classic FM and Fine Music 102.5. Nick is a Yamaha Australia artist.

The Golden Age Quartet comprises Alice Higgens, Julia Russoniello, Tara Hashambhoy and Meg Cohen, and is a new and innovative chamber ensemble, delivering research-led performances that explore the aesthetic of a bygone era. Formed to explore the sound world of the early twentieth century, this quartet plays on a mixture of modern and period strings and in a style reminiscent of early twentieth century ensembles: the Marjorie Hayward and London String Quartets. The players share a passion for creative and expressive performance and have individually performed in some of the world’s elite ensembles including the Mannheimer Phiharmoniker, Australian Brandenburg Orchestra, The Academy of St Martins in The Field, The Australian Romantic and Classical Orchestra and the Orchestra of the Age of Enlightenment.

The programme: George Gershwin, Three Preludes (1926) / Lullaby (1920)/ Judy Wiedoeft, Valse VanitŽ (1926) / Grigoras Dinicu, Hora Staccato (1906)/ Charlie Chaplin, ‘Smile’ from Modern Times (1936)

Tickets: Adult $48, Concession and Under 30 $30, Student $22, Child $16

Bookings:  or call (02) 9955 3000  

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *