Sonus Quartet At The Independent Theatre

Sonus Quartet

Sonus Quartet

Sonus Piano Quartet presents a broad cross-section of master works from three composers at the height of their powers, as part of the popular Prelude in Tea series, continuing their series of annual appearances at the Independent Theatre,.

Comprising Brenda Jones (piano), Aiko Goto, (violin), Jacqui Cronin (viola) and Timothy Nankervis (cello), Sonus are thrilled to be returning with three  of the most important works in the piano quartet repertoire.

Schumann’s Piano Quartet in B flat major is luscious, uber-lyrical and romantic, while the Saint-Saëns Piano Quartet also shares an intense lyricism with the whiff of French style. Australian composer Ross Edwards’ single movement work Emerald Crossing composed for piano quartet in 1999, states his typically nationalistic depiction of the Australian bush. In this instance it is a serene passacaglia, “haunted by an image of a canoe propelled slowly across calm green water.”

“This piece epitomises Ross Edwards’ wonderfully Australian voice and cements his status as one of Australia’s greatest composers,” says violist Jacqui Cronin.

The quartet takes its name from sonus, the Latin word derived from the Greek “tonos” that means “noise, sound”.
Formed in late 2011 by Brenda Jones, the Sonus Piano Quartet celebrates the art of sound production in their performances. The quartet brings together four master musicians: Australian Chamber Orchestra violinist, Aiko Goto, violist Jacqui Cronin, Sydney Symphony Orchestra cellist, Timothy Nankervis and ipanist, Brenda Jones.

The programme: Ross Edwards Emerald Crossing/ Saint-Saëns Piano Quartet in B flat major, Op. 41/Robert Schumann Piano Quartet in E flat major, Op. 47
Tickets: Adult $47 | Concession (Senior & Pensioner) $30 | Student (under 25) $22
Bookings: online or phone 9955 3000



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *