Stolen – Halcyon And Soundstream Collective



“….old elder young honesty
                    turned ashen……”
                                  Anne Stephenson, ‘Willow Song’

Bursting with musical riches, Stolen explores ideas of displacement, dislocation and identity through the integration of music and visual image. The performances present three world premieres and bring together two of Australia’s most innovative new music ensembles for the first time; Halcyon, Sydney’s acclaimed vocal chamber music specialists and Soundstream Collective, the University of Adelaide’s new music ensemble – in – residence. Presented by the New Music Network, Stolen features works by Australian composers Gerard Brophy, Andrew Ford, David Harris and David Kotlowy and readings by Professor Lester-Irabinna Rigney from the Bringing Them Home Report alongside art by one of the country’s most intriguing visual artists Ngarrindjeri-Kaurna-Yunkanytjatjara-man, Allan Sumner.
Introduction by Prof. Lester-Irabinna Rigney
David Kotlowy Mitithi* (2014) 

Andrew Ford Willow Songs (2009) 

Martin Bresnick Prayers Remain Forever (2011) 
Gerard Brophy When Peacocks Dance* (2014) 

David Harris Yurrebilla Climbing* (2014)

 * World Premiere
Alison Morgan, soprano/Jenny Duck-Chong, mezzo soprano/Geoffrey Collins, flutes/Peter Handsworth, clarinets/Janis Laurs, cello/   Gabriella Smart, piano/Joshua Hill, percussion.

Tickets: Full $30 | Conc $20

Halcyon is regarded as a leading exponent in the field of new music. Halcyon presents stunning performances of vocal chamber music from around the world, with a special emphasis on Australian content. Artistic directors and singers Jenny Duck-Chong and Alison Morgan direct the popular and acclaimed Halcyon concert series, showcasing many rarely heard international works and premiering new offerings from some of Australia’s most esteemed composers, including Nigel Butterley, Andrew Ford, Elliott Gyger, Andrew Schultz, Raffaele Marcellino, Rosalind Page and Nicholas Vines. With the help of generous sponsors, Halcyon is currently recording many of these works for commercial release.

The Soundstream Collective is the University of Adelaide’s new music Ensemble-in-Residence, auspiced through the JM Coetzee Centre for Creative Practice. The Collective is committed to creating a vibrant culture of new music through artistic excellence, innovative programming, composer collaborations, the commissioning of new works and community participation.
Soundstream Collective embraces the performance, practice and reception of new music at all levels of engagement. Soundstream Collective comprises a core group of skilled and dedicated musicians, under its Artistic Director (Gabriella Smart), complemented by other musicians to suit the demands of the musical program being offered. 


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *