Strange Bedfellows: Chamber Music For Unusual Combinations


The Sirius Chamber Ensemble presents its last performance of its 2014 series which will feature the Australian premiere of the recently published original version of Aaron Copland’s Quiet City and a new work written especially for Sirius by Australian composer Paul Smith.

The programme: 

Prokofiev, S: Overture on Hebrew themes for clarinet, string quartet and piano; 

Smith, P: The Death of Baldr for flute, clarinet, bassoon, horn, cello and piano; 

Koechlin, C: Epitaph de Jean Harlowe for flute, alto saxophone and piano; 

Copland, A: Quiet City for alto saxophone, trumpet, clarinet/bass clarinet and piano;

Martinu, B: Revue de Cuisine for clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, violin, cello and piano.

Performers: Melissa Coleman (flute), Ian Sykes (clarinet), Alison Evans (bassoon), Julia Zeltzer (french horn), Martyn Hentschel (violin), Clare Kahn (cello), Claire Howard Race (piano).

Tickets: Adults $30 / Concession $20 / Child $10
Available at or at the door.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *