Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship Quarter Finalists Announced

Counter-tenor Nicholas Tolputt, winner of the 2016 Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship
Counter-tenor Nicholas Tolputt, winner of the 2016 Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship. Photocredit WinkiPop Media.

Congratulations to the thirty one aspiring singers who qualified for the quarter finals of the Sydney Eisteddfod Opera Scholarship held in May.

They will perform for adjudicators this weekend, on June 10 in the hope of getting a step closer to securing their part of the of $58,500 scholarship on offer to take the next step in their careers.

Of the thirty one, sixteen will progress to the semi-final on June 11 and eight will then be selected to progress to the final at The Concourse Concert Hall, Chatswood on July 16.

Adjudicators Peter Coleman-Wright AO and Anson Austin OAM are already impressed by the high standard of this year’s contest. They look forward to hearing the singers again, but are aware their work next weekend will involve many agonising decisions.

The quarter-finalists are: Amanda Windred (Oxley Vale) Morgan Balfour (Bracken Ridge, QLD) Jessica Harper (Newtown) Jenna Robertson (Sydney) Jessie Wilson (Denistone East) Zoe Drummond (Homebush) Damian Arnold (Allawah) Bronwyn Douglass (Voyager Point) Danita Weatherstone (Wyee) Livia Brash (Glebe) Joelene Griffith (Mount Kuring-Gai) Pamela Andrews (Rockdale) Esther Yee Eun Song (Croydon Park) Daniel Carison (Mebourne, Vic) Christopher Curcuruto (Leichhardt) Imogen-Faith Malifitano (Wollongong) Joseph Raso (Casula) Anna Stephens (Kenmore, QLD) Joshua Oxley (Lane Cove) Jessica Westcott (Leichhardt) Alexandra Ioan (Richmond, VIC) Matthew Reardon (Yagoona) Raphael Hudson (Chatswood) Daniel Macey (Blakehurst) James Olds (Narrabeen) Anastasia Bickel (Holland Park, QLD) Joshua Salter (Glebe) Heather Lupton (Glenbrook) Boyd Owen (Melbourne, VIC) Stephanie Gibson (Pyrmont) Jared Lillehagen (North Curl Curl)

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *