The Sydney Consort In Chaos


download (2)

The Sydney Consort makes musical damage in a concert they have called Chaos. Celebrating the richness and diversity of our modern society, the Sydney Consort explores musical intersections between old and new, tradition and innovation. 

Chaos emphasises the continuity between the early music of Europe and modern Australia with the pairing of music by baroque masters and by celebrated Dutch and Australian composers. The ensemble will explore various musical paths – from those of Jean-Fery Rebel, who composed one of the 18th century’s most remarkable works, Les élémens, featuring tone clusters that would have been considered avant-garde in the 20th century, to those of Australian composers Nigel Butterley, Stephen Yates, Alex Pozniak & Jacob Ter Veldhuis, the master behind the phenomenal Garden of Love. The Sydney Consort will also perform music of  Biber and Royer showcasing the unusual and controversial harmony of the 18th century. 


Alicia Crossley – recorders/ Stan W Kornel – baroque violin/ Shaun Ng – viola da gamba/ Monika Kornel – harpsichord.

Tickets: $35/ $25 concession.  

Click here to book or at the door 30 minutes before the concert. 







Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *