The Sydney International Piano Competition Announces 2023 Participants

The names have been announced of 32 fine young pianists from around the globe who will be taking part in the Sydney International Piano Competition (The Sydney), under the direction of Piers Lane, from the 5th to 22nd July, 2023. This year, Maestro Zubin Mehta joins The Sydney as its Artistic Patron for 2023.

Events will take place at the Sydney Conservatorium with the finals held in the Concert Hall of the Sydney Opera House.

Selected from a total of 250 applicants, the list of competitors includes three from Australia, eight from China, four from Russia, two from Belarus, Germany, Japan and South Korea, and one competitor each from America, Britain, Canada, Italy, Mexico, New Zealand, Spain, Turkey and Ukraine. The competitors range in age from 18 to 32. They are:

Leanne Jin (AUS), Robbin Reza (AUS), Alexander Yau (AUS), Sergey Belyavsky (RUS), Anfisa Bobylova (UKR), Junyan Chen (CHN), Xuehong Chen (CHN), Antonio Chen-Guang (CHN), Yungyung Guo (CHN), Rafael Gutierrez-Velez (MEX), Carter Johnson (CAN), Uladzislau Khandohi (BLR), Jeonghwan Kim (DEU), Jinhong Li (CHN), Dzianis Linnik (BLR), Pedro Lopez-Salas (ESP), Jiaqing Luo (CHN), Philipp Lynov (RUS), Andrea Molteni (ITA), Shunta Morimoto (JPN), Shion Ota (JPN), Kyoungsun Park (KOR), Korkmaz Can Saglam (TUR), Vitaly Starikov (RUS), Sergei Tanin (RUS), Yinuo Wang (CHN), Yong gi Woo (KOR), Jun-Lin Wu (CHN), Yuanfan Yang(GBR), Jun-Ho Gabriel Yeo (DEU), Seho Young (USA) & Lixin Zhang (NZL).

Diary dates: 2023 Opening Gala, Wednesday 5 July.

First Prize Winner’s debut solo Sydney recital on Friday 28 July.

The Winner’s Tour

The First Prize winner, will give their one night only recitals across Sydney, Melbourne, Brisbane, Townsville, Canberra, Adelaide and Perth. Book here

Ticket packages are available now.

Single tickets go on sale 11 April.

Read about The Sydney’s composer competition winner.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *