TMO Concert Features World Premiere From Composer Development Programme


The Metropolitan Orchestra led by Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams will showcase one of the largest gatherings of musicians in its nine-year history when it presents their Extraordinary Firsts Met Concert.  Over 90 musicians will join Conductor Williams to perform one of the most wildly ambitious projects of its time, Gustav Mahler’s First Symphony.

This masterpiece opens with one of the most spellbinding moments of musical inspiration from the 19th century and continues through a range of symphonic shocks in five magnificent movements. Considered to have irrevocably changed the history of the symphony by laying down the gauntlet for a new form that fused both the imagination and the narrative, Mahler’s creation stirs the soul and inspires a sense that the human spirit can triumph over anguish and loneliness.

This concert also introduces Australian composer Nigel Ubrihien, one of the finalists from TMO’s inaugural Composer Development Program (2016), with the world premiere performance of his Mestizo Suite. Inspired by his travels to Mexico City where he became fascinated by some eighteenth century “mestizo” portraits which celebrated the racial possibilities of the ethnically diverse population of New Spain, the Mestizo Suite is a contemplation of the mixed nature of contemporary Australian society.

Met Concert 4 will be presented without interval in a true journey of emotion and imagination.

Tickets: or call (02) 8004-3472.

* Please note that the café will not be operating as there will be no interval for this performance.

The programme:

UBRIHIEN Mestizo Suite *World Premiere
MAHLER Symphony #1

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *