APRA/AMCOS Art Music Awards Online

APRA AMCOS and the Australian Music Centre (AMC) present the 2020 Art Music Awards, a virtual event, streamed online and available worldwide on Tuesday 8 September.

This annual celebration of Australia’s contemporary classical, jazz and improvised and experimental music and sound art will feature socially distanced performances from some of Australia’s finest talents, curated by the multi award-winning composer and pianist Barney McAll and hosted by Jonathan Biggins.

In 2020, the Art Music Awards celebrate its 10th year in its current format, and ushers in new and reworked categories, making this the most comprehensive and inclusive awards event in our history. Awards will be presented in 13 national categories, along with Luminary Awards for each Australian state or territory, to honour individuals and organisations who have contributed to their communities over time. The reworked categories have been introduced to meet the needs of and acknowledge the ever-evolving art music sector. The ceremony will also honour the recipient of the Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music.

• Work of the Year: Choral
• Work of the Year: Large Ensemble
• Work of the Year: Dramatic
• Work of the Year: Electroacoustic / Sound Art
• Work of the Year: Jazz
• Work of the Year: Chamber Music
• Performance of the Year: Notated Composition
• Performance of the Year: Jazz / Improvised Music
• Award for Excellence in Music Education
• Award for Excellence in a Regional Area
• Award for Excellence in Experimental Music
• Luminary Award – Individual
• Luminary Award – Organisation
• Luminary Awards – State/Territory Awards
• Richard Gill Award for Distinguished Services to Australian Music*
* as determined by the APRA Board of Directors

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *