Australian Haydn Ensemble Explores Chamber Performances Of Beethoven’s Orchestral Works

Neal Peres Da Costa
Neal Peres Da Costa

Australian Haydn Ensemble led by Artistic Director Skye McIntosh and soloist Neal Peres Da Costa playing the Fortepiano perform   Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No 4 in the ensemble’s ongoing cycle of exploring chamber versions of Beethoven’s piano concertos. Reflecting 18th century practice, this year the AHE is using as a basis, Beethoven’s own sketches for a new version of his 4th Piano Concerto.

Filled with lightness, beauty and majesty it is performed by Dr Neal Peres Da Costa a lauded exponent of historically informed keyboard playing. Neal will perform on a fortepiano after Conrad Graf (c. 1820), generously made available from the Sydney Conservatoirum of Music and Australian National University historical keyboard collections.

Also on the programme is the Australian premiere of an 18th century chamber version of Beethoven’s Symphony No 2, recently discovered by AHE in the rare music collection of the British Library.

Neal Peres Da Costa’s monograph Off the Record: Performing Practices in Romantic Piano Playing (Oxford University Press, New York, 2012) has received critical acclaim. Limelight Magazine hailed it as ‘engaging and thought provoking’ … and a book that ‘no serious pianist should be without.’ Alex Ross (music critic of The New Yorker and author of The Rest is Noise) honoured it as a notable book on his 2012 Apex List.

Program: BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 2 – chamber arr. by Masi (1800)/ BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 4 – chamber arr. by Lim (2016)

Tickets:                            $30 – $75
Bookings:                         (02) 9250 7777 or or purchase at the door

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *