Calls For 2024 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship

Australia Ensemble UNSW has opened applications for the 2024 Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship. The fellowship  encourages and promotes the creation of chamber music works as part of the Australia Ensemble UNSW’s artist development program.

Generously supported by the late Emeritus Professor Roger Layton and Merrilyn Layton, the fellowship aims to empower and inspire composers of the highest standard with a focus on creativity and excellence.

The winner will receive $10,000 to write two works during a 12-month period, including one piece for a small ensemble and one for a large ensemble. Through a competitive selection process determined by UNSW, the recipient of the fellowship will also be eligible for mentoring sessions with leading composers and members of the Australia Ensemble UNSW. Their works will feature in at least one public workshop.

Previous winners of the Prize include Angus Davison, Nicole Murphy, Harry Sdraulig, Ian Whitney and Elizabeth Younan. The Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship is open to all Australian citizens and permanent residents who are still in an early career stage, defined as being within the first 7 years of creative practice.

Applications close Monday September 25, 2023. A winner will be announced by end of October 2023.

Find out more.

Read about last year’s Layton Emerging Composer Fellowship recipient, Angus Davison.

Image: Australia Ensemble UNSW








Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *