Melbourne Digital Concert Hall’s Winter Music Season With Melbourne Chamber Orchestra

Australia’s leading online chamber music platform, Melbourne Digital Concert Hall (MDCH), and Victoria’s largest independent chamber music organisation, Melbourne Chamber Orchestra (MCO), have formed a partnership to deliver fortnightly concerts on Thursday at 8:30pm, featuring MCO Principal musicians and their regular collaborators including pianists Louisa Breen, Stefan Cassomenos and Benjamin Martin. MCO’s Artistic Director, William Hennessy AM, leads three of the programs.

MDCH has been a major success story in the arts during the COVID-19 pandemic, raising over $300,000 in payments to artists. MCO’s 2020 season plans have been upended by the pandemic, with regular live programming cancelled through to at least August.

Click here for tickets $24. 

Or a 5 concert subscription for $106

OR visit |

The programme:

Thursday 2 July 2020, Brahms Sextet:  Strauss, Richard String Sextet from Capriccio Op 85,
Brahms String Sextet No 2 in G major Op 36: Markiyan Melnychenko Violin I/Natalia Harvey Violin II/ Merewyn Bramble Viola I/ Katie Yap Viola II/ Michael Dahlenburg Cello I/ Josephine Vains Cello II

Thursday 16 July 2020, Sonatas for Violin & Piano: Janáček Violin Sonata JW VII/7, Kreisler Three Viennese Dances, Brahms Sonata in D minor Op 108: Natalia Harvey Violin/ Louisa Breen Piano

Thursday 30 July 2020 Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4: Mozart Divertimento in D major K136, Beethoven Piano Concerto No 4 in G major Op 58 (arranged for piano and string quintet): Stefan Cassomenos Piano/ William Hennessy Violin I/ Natalia Harvey Violin II/ Merewyn Bramble Viola I/ Katharine Brockman Viola II/ Michael Dahlenburg Cello/
Emma Sullivan Double Bass

Thursday 13 August 2020, Trout Quintet: Schubert String Trio in B flat major D471, Schubert Piano Quintet in A major D667 Trout: Louisa Breen Piano/ William Hennessy Violin/ Merewyn Bramble Viola/ Michael Dahlenburg Cello/ Emma Sullivan Double Bass

Thursday 27 August 2020, Archduke Trio: Beethoven Allegretto in B flat major WoO 39, Beethoven Piano Trio in B flat major Op 97 Archduke: Benjamin Martin Piano/ William Hennessy Violin/ Michael Dahlenburg Cello

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *