Something old, something new and something jazzy from Sirius

The Sirius Ensemble


A new composition, written especially for the performers, is part of the Sirius Chamber Ensemble’s final concert for 2012. Complementing the programme are well-loved masterpieces and a jazz ballet suite.

Sydney-based composer, arranger and performer Nigel Ubrihien composed the septet Mestizo Dances after his travels in Mexico. It’s  written for an unusual mix of wind and string instruments comprising flute, clarinet, bassoon, french horn, violin, viola and cello.

Continuing the dance theme is, Bohuslav Martinu’s 10 movement ballet suite La Revue de Cuisine based on the entertaining story of kitchen utensils, Pot, Lid, Broom and Dishcloth amongst others, each with their own personality acting out their romances. The composition scored for a sextet – clarinet, bassoon, trumpet, violin, cello and piano – explores the popular jazz styles of the 1920’s.

Clarinetist Ian Sykes will be joined by the Bancroft Quartet to perform Brahms’ masterpiece Clarinet Quintet Op.115.  Also on the program will be the lesser-known Trio for flute, viola and bassoon by Malcolm Arnold.

The Sirius Ensemble

Ian Sykes – clarinet,

Alison Evans – bassoon,

Julia Zeltzer – French Horn,

Clare Kahn – cello,

Georgina Price – viola,

Clare Howard Race – piano.

Tickets: $15-$35




Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *