The Met Wind Ensemble performs D’Indy, Beethoven and Mozart

It’s a treat for lovers of wind music when the principal wind musicians of The Metropolitan Orchestra gather to present the orchestra’s final “Indy Series” chamber music concert for 2012, featuring the music of D’Indy, Beethoven and Mozart.

D’Indy’s (1851 – 1931) Chansons et danses, op 50 is a turn of the century Wagner inspired septet for the formidable combination of scored for flute, oboe, two clarinets, two bassoons and horn, composed on commission for Paris’ Societé des instruments à vent.

Beethoven’s (1770 – 1827)  Octet in Eb major, op 103 was also written with a specific purpose. Elector Maximilian Franz enjoyed music for winds and Beethoven composed this work for two oboes, clarinets, horns and bassoons. Although it has a late opus number, it is a relatively early work, thought to have been completed c 1792, and one he re-worked as a string quintet which has the opus number 4.

Mozart’s (1756- 1791) four movement Serenade no 12, C minor, K 388 was also scored for 2 oboes, clarinets, horns and bassoons. The third movements is an entertaining canon, with the finale taking the form of a theme and variations.

Tickets: $25, $20 concession and $10 for children under 16.

Bookings:  or 1300 150 465

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *