The Metropolitan Orchestra premieres a new concerto

Percussionist Claire Edwardes


The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO) with its artistic director and chief conductor Sarah-Grace Williams, welcome the renowned percussionist, Claire Edwardes to perform the world premiere of  Daniel Rojas’ Chamber Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra. The Chilean born Australian composer has created this work especially for  The Metropolitan Orchestra.

Claire Edwardes is recognised internationally as one of the most important percussionists of her generation. She brings vibrancy and impeccable skill to Rojas’ distinctive music infused with infectious Latin-inspired rhythms which have the audience wanting to samba in the aisles. Rojas says that the strength and musical skills of both Claire Edwardes and Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams inspired the structure and shape of this wonderful piece of music.

The programme will open with one of Mozart’s most recognisable pieces, Eine kleine Nachtmusik K 525, and will end with Haydn’s spirited masterwork the Symphony no 104 in D, ‘London’.

Composer Daniel Rojas

The Metropolitan Orchestra Met Series 2 

MOZART  W A   Serenade no 13 ‘Eine kleine Nachtmusik’ K 525,

ROJAS  D Chamber Concerto for Marimba and Orchestra, world premiere of this Australian composition,

Claire Edwardes, Marimba

HAYDN  J  Symphony no 104 in D ‘London’

Bookings:   or phone  (02) 8007-7131




Bookings:   or phone  (02) 8007-7131


Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *