The Metropolitan Orchestra: Sibelius And Brahms

Anna Da Silva Chen
Anna Da Silva Chen

In their first Met Concert for 2017, The Metropolitan Orchestra (TMO) under the baton of Artistic Director and Chief Conductor Sarah-Grace Williams will perform a magnificent program of masterworks by Sibelius and Brahms.

TMO welcomes back young Australian virtuoso violinist Anna Da Silva Chen as soloist for Sibelius’ Violin Concerto. The only concerto written by Sibelius, this work is renowned not only for its technical difficulty, but also for its virtuosic style, both masterly and exhilarating.

The second half of this evening features Brahms’ First Symphony. Almost 20 years in the making, the first symphony is a regarded as one of the greatest symphonies ever written, highlighting passionate contrasts with gentle meanderings in a magnificent musical journey.

Tickets: or call (02) 8004-3472.

NB: The A-One Cafe in the ABC Centre will be open from 7pm for pre-concert drinks and snacks.

The programme: SIBELIUS Violin Concerto / BRAHMS Symphony #1
Conductor: Sarah-Grace Williams / Soloist: Anna Da Silva Chen



Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *